Author Interview: Laura Dave

OUR BOOK OF THE MONTH AUTHOR!

I’m so excited to share today’s interview with Laura Dave, author of our October book club pick, Eight Hundred Grapes. I adored this book when I first read it years ago and I have had the best time re-reading it this month as well. I hope you will enjoy getting to know Laura better and will check out some of her other books!

LIGHTNING ROUND Q&A:

WHAT ARE YOU READING RIGHT NOW?

LAURA: I always have a few books going at once. This week’s reads are Ledger by Jane Hirschfield, Modern Comfort by Ina Garten (cookbook), and Anxious People by Fredrik Backman.

WHAT WAS YOUR LAST AMAZON PURCHASE?

LAURA: Learning Resources Jumbo Reptiles for my four-year-old who is obsessed with animals.

WHAT’S YOUR STARBUCKS ORDER?

LAURA: I am lucky in that my husband makes the best cup of coffee in the world—and every morning, before I start working, he makes me an almond latte.  It’s a treat I really look forward to! When I venture out to Starbucks though, I always get a mocha, no whipped cream.

WHAT IS YOUR GUILTY PLEASURE?

LAURA: I love to cook, so I’d have to say spending lazy afternoons making food for the people I love. And my favorite thing to make is strawberry pizza. The recipe I use can be found here.I had it for the first time up in Napa Valley, and it’s the sweetest, most delicious pizza you’ll ever have.

WHO IS YOUR FAVORITE CELEBRITY OR FICTIONAL CHARACTER?

LAURA: Elizabeth Bennet, Pride and Prejudice.

WHAT IS YOUR CURRENT ONLINE OBSESSION (WEBSITE, INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT, ETC.)

LAURA: Marco Polo Learning (again…the four-year-old!)

WHAT IS NEXT IN YOUR NETFLIX QUEUE?

LAURA: The Social Dilemma and the Great British Bake Off

Okay, Let’s Chat “Eight Hundred Grapes”

Sonoma County is maybe my favorite character. Have you spent a lot of time there?

That’s nice to hear. I have spent quite a bit of time there! It’s one of my favorite places, and when I started working on the book, I went deep on the area. I even shadowed several winemakers, which was an incredible experience.

What inspired this book? I felt your passion for winemaking and Sonoma through your writing. I’d love to know how you fell into this story!

I was playing with an image for a long time of a woman showing up at her hometown bar on what should have been her wedding day. I didn’t know who she was talking to, and I didn’t know why she had come home, but that woman stayed with me. Somewhere along the line, I started thinking about winemaking—how it was such an expression of faith and patience.  How it required you to give it everything you had. Which seemed to me a metaphor for marriage and family and building a life that matters. Suddenly I knew where the woman in the wedding dress was going. And this novel was born.

Favorite wine to sip while reading?

For a special treat, there is nothing better than a glass of Lynmar Quail Hill Pinot Noir. And I’ve never met a glass of prosecco I don’t like.

There are so many themes running through this book: Family, fate, forgiveness. Do you have a favorite storyline or Ford family member?

I have a soft spot for Dan and Jen’s love story. There is a lot of pain there and a lot of redemption, and ultimately it is explores a theme that I like to look at in all my writing: the responsibility of being a witness to somebody’s life.

WHAT PAGE ARE YOU ON?

Okay, now that you’ve read the interview… spill it! What page are you on?! Have you started, finished, or are you ordering today? I’m dying to know your thoughts. To me this was the perfect cozy fall read!

And for those of you who are literally devouring books left and right, make sure you’re following the book club over on Instagram where we will be posting read-a-likes for Eight Hundred Grapes later this month!

Follow:

4 Comments

  1. Melissa Terry
    October 20, 2020 / 7:45 am

    Just finished Sunday afternoon! Dan and Jen’s story was my favorite too and I love what the author just said about being witness to someone’s life. What a joy and what a responsibility.

    • October 28, 2020 / 11:02 am

      Melissa, you are right… “what a joy and what a responsibility.”

  2. Stacey Cox
    October 20, 2020 / 4:10 pm

    I read this book years ago and loved it. It was one of those novels whose characters you didn’t want to say goodbye to when the story ends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

powered by chloédigital